EP33 Circle
Occupy Poetics

curated by Thom Donovan

with Brian Ang, Steve Benson, Ana Božičević, David Brazil, Brandon Brown,
David Buuck, Anelise Chen, Stephen Collis, Lara Durback, Jackqueline Frost,
Dan Thomas Glass, Evan Kennedy, Ben Kimnont, Lauren Levin, Richard Owens,
Jennifer Scappettone, Suzanne Stein, Anna Vitale, Jeanine Webb,
Kathy Westwater and Brian Whitener

Hover your cursor over the embedded chapbook and press “Click to Read” to view the chapbook full size. It may take several seconds for the chapbook to load. For readers who want to keep a digital copy of this chapbook or who are reading on iPads, feel free to download this PDF.
In Occupy Poetics, Thom Donovan collects a series of responses to the Occupy movement to observe how aesthetics and politics might intersect.

Excerpt from Introduction from the Vital Forms (Poetics of Healing) Symposium:

“If formatting determines not just content, but how we gather, then exploring new modalities for participation is absolutely essential for change. Poets have complained ceaselessly about the fourth wall of the poetry reading as a genre. Certainly the People’s Mic offers one solution to this problem.”
Thom Donovan is the author of The Hole and of the forthcoming Withdrawn (Compline). He was active in Occupy Wall Street’s “Poetry Assembly” in the fall of 2011 and edited the collection “Poetry During OWS” for Rethinking Marxism, which features 19 poets’ responses to Occupy Wall Street.




  • ep09lazarcover6nodogear
  • ep10benonicover
  • ep13chapmancover
  • ep14borsukchapcover
  • ep17languellcoverE
  • ep18smithcover
  • ep21harringtonltcover2
  • ep22HIXLTcover4
  • ep25magiLTcover1_revision
  • ep26magiLTcover2
  • ep29_fleischmanLTcover
  • ep30_PinkmountainLTcover
  • ep33_donovanLTcover
  • ep34_perezLTcover
  • ep37hixLTcover
  • ep38rexiliusLTcover
  • ep41beckwithEPcoverfinal72dpi
  • ep42schwartzlt3coverwhite72dpi
  • ep45hixltcoverdecember201572dpi
  • ep46pagelEPcover72dpi
  • ep77Trigiliocover
  • ep80reedercover
  • ep84borsukcover

Essay Press is pleased to announce the two winners of the 2016 Essay Press Open Book Contest judged by Carla Harryman: Litany for the Long Moment by Mary-Kim Arnold and Of Sphere by Karla Kelsey, which will be published in Fall 2017.