We are pleased to announce the results of the 2015 Essay Press Chapbook Contest. We asked 12 recent Essay authors each to select and introduce a manuscript extending and/or challenging the formal possibilities of prose. The judges selected manuscripts by José Angel Araguz, Molly Bennett, Kristen Case, J’Lyn Chapman, Nicole Cooley, Wes Jamison, Carrie Lorig, Sarah Minor, Lisa Olstein, Susanne Paola Antonetta, Sophia Terazawa and Sarah Ann Winn, all of which will be published in the Chapbook Contest Series.


Misha Pam Dick (this is the fugitive) selected José Angel Araguz’s The Book of Flight.

Jessica Smith (The Women in Visual Poetry: The Bechdel Test) selected Molly Bennett’s Paper Apartment.

Dan Beachy-Quick (A Quiet Book) selected Kristen Case’s Abdication: Emily Dickinson’s Failures of Self.

Amaranth Borsuk (Affect and Audience in the Digital Age) selected J’Lyn Chapman’s A Thing of Shreds and Patches.

Jennifer Kwon Dobbs (Notes from a Missing Person) selected Nicole Cooley’s Frozen Charlottes, A Sequence.

Julie Carr (The Silence that Fills the Future) selected Wes Jamison’s and Melancholia.

Lily Hoang (On Rats and Tigers) selected Carrie Lorig’s The Book of Repulsive Women.

Joseph Harrington (Goodnight Whoever’s Listening; Tracking/Teaching: On Documentary Poetics) selected Sarah Minor’s The Persistence of Bonyleg: Annotated.

Shane McCrae (30 Paragraphs: A Memoir) selected Lisa Olstein’s The Resemblance of the Enzymes of Grasses to those of Whales is a Family Resemblance.

David Lazar (Considering Garlands: On Anthologies) selected Susanne Paola Antonetta’s Curious Atoms: A History with Physics.

Rosebud Ben-Oni (On Poetics, Identity & Latinidad: CantoMundo Poets Speak Out) selected Sophia Terazawa’s I AM NOT A WAR.

Krystal Languell (Archive Theft: The Paris Review Re-Interviews) selected Sarah Ann Winn’s Field Guide to Alma Avenue and Frew Drive.

Essay Press is pleased to announce the two winners of the 2016 Essay Press Open Book Contest judged by Carla Harryman: Litany for the Long Moment by Mary-Kim Arnold and Of Sphere by Karla Kelsey, which will be published in Fall 2017.